Mobility Point, or, Mobility for a Study of Vagrancy

Mobilehistorian

It has now been a while since my visit to CeMoRe and my first blog. Lancaster will be blooming with Spring, and here in New Zealand, the Winter approaches, with colder days but blue skies. I have used this photograph, taken at the Glasgow Railway Station, in a playful way to emphasise the now ubiquitous sense of mobility in everyday life.

‘Mobility Point’ is also a way for me to signal that my time at CeMoRe of reflecting on the uses of ‘mobility’ as a lens through which to see histories of vagrancy has been productive and stimulating. Colin Pooley’s suggestion that I imagine ‘mobility’ rather than ‘vagrancy’ as the subject of my unfolding research study has been very helpful. I am now looking at what I am calling the registers of mobility in the colonial past by focusing on the figure of the vagrant.

The poor, the different, and…

View original post 488 more words

Leave a Reply

